Per Se, in pictures

Per Se

Last month I spent my 40th birthday eating and drinking my way through New York City. I saw two fantasticmusicals and ate several memorable meals. However, the highlight of the trip was dinner with my husband, sister, brother and sister-in-law at Per Se. We were there for five hours and at least nine courses, plus several bottles of wine. Probably the single standout dish was the one I didn’t photograph—the lobster.

Oysters and "Pearls"--a Per Se signature course

Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras

Vegetarian option: "Gnocchi Parisienne" with Tarragon Custard

Herb-Roasted Columbia River Sturgeon

100-Day Dry-Aged American Wagyu Beef

Coconut Sorbet, in my sister's hands

40th birthday desserts: S'mores and cake

Finishing truffles

In preparation for my visit I read “Service Included” by a former Per Se table captain. I likely noticed a few extra touches that would have gone by me otherwise, but it wasn’t crucial to my enjoyment of the night by any means. And, while all of the desserts were good, I think the best was the small house signature cake they brought over for my birthday wish. If you should ever go, get that cake!

Where would you dine if you could go anywhere in the world for your birthday?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susie Askanase on November 30, 2011 at 6:43 PM

    Wow!!! What a dinner. So glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply

  2. The surprise dish was the Columbia River sturgeon. A standout for me. Also loved the vegetarian Gnocci. Thanks from your sister, who thanks you enormously for bringing me along!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

