Brunch Staples: My Sister’s Biscotti

When my sister stayed with us after the birth of The Energizer Bunny, she graciously prepared a number of meals for the family. I often asked for the recipes, including the one for these biscotti which have since become a staple for brunches. I have to bake them for an event or a large number of guests, because if I have a lot of it in the house I’ll eat them up. This week, I baked the biscotti for Thanksgiving. We’ll have a large number of family in town, hanging out at the house, and I need to fortify the freezer with baked goods. I may make another batch of Seinfeld Cookies for the kids—these are for the grown-ups.

Brunch Biscotti

Great for: Brunch guests, overnight guests, you

Prep: 10 minutes

Cook: 40-50 minutes

INGREDIENTS

8T Butter

3/4C Sugar

2 Eggs

1T Vanilla

2.5C Flour

1T Baking Powder

8 oz. toasted nuts (I used sliced blanched almonds)

1/2C dried fruit

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Beat the sugar and butter.
  3. Add Eggs and vanilla and blend
  4. Add flour and baking powder and blend
  5. Add nuts and fruit and blend
  6. Shape into logs and place on a nonstick baking sheet.
  7. Bake 25-30 minutes, until firm to the touch. Remove from oven, then remove logs to cutting board.
  8. CSice carefully and return to baking sheet, spacing evenly apart.
  9. Bake another 15-20 minutes.

Makes about 2 dozen biscotti.

Leave a Reply

