Seinfeld Cookies

When the Energizer Bunny was a toddler, I checked out Jessica Seinfeld’s cookbook from our library to see if I, too, could be a sneaky chef. I already had a ton of pureed vegetables in ice-cube form in the freezer, and some of her tips were very easy to incorporate, like using carrot or butternut squash puree instead of milk in mac’n’cheese, or melting a cube of frozen spinach puree into pasta sauce. I made several of her recipes and they were hit or miss, so I made copies of the ones I had liked, or wanted to try later, and gave the book back. I came across one of the latter recipes, for chocolate chip cookies, this week and decided to give them a shot.

The result: my kids liked them a lot more than I’d have thought. My son asked me to make them for his birthday party. There are so many chocolate chunks in this recipe that I some ways, the doughy cookie is just a chocolate delivery system. But considering they have just as many chickpeas in them which are basically undetectable, I can live with it. They are very cake-y, and there is no “spread” during baking—it forms exactly as you drop the dough. And yet, I can’t stop eating them.

Chocolate Chip & Chickpea Cookies

Great for: kids

Prep: 10 minutes

Cook: 12 minutes

INGREDIENTS

1C firmly packed light or dark brown sugar

3/4C trans-fat-free soft tub margarine spread or butter (I used Brummel & Brown. Actual Margarine might help the “spread” factor)

2 large egg whites (I used liquid egg white equivalent)

2t pure vanilla extract

15oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (I generally like to remove the “skin” but in this recipe I can’t see that mattering)

2C (12 ozs) semisweet chocolate chips/chunks (You may want to look for fair trade chocolate)

2C all-purpose flour

1/2C old fashioned oats

1t baking soda

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking trays with non-stick parchment (I just used baking spray)
  2. In a large mixing bowl or the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the sugar and margarine with a wooden spoon or on medium speed until smooth.
  3. Beat in the egg whites or egg and vanilla, then the chickpeas and chocolate chips.
  4. Add the flour, oats, baking soda and salt and mix on low speed until a thick dough forms.
  5. Drop the dough by the tablespoonful onto the baking sheet, spacing the cookies about 1 inch apart. Flatten slightly with a fork.
  6. Bake for 11-13 minutes, do not overbake. Leave on cookie sheet to cool and then transfer onto wire rack until completely cool.
  7. Store in airtight container for up to 3 days.

By Jessica Seinfeld from Deceptively Delicious

Honestly, this recipe has me thinking I may not to check that cookbook out again, or even buy it. At the least, I need to get back into some of those good habits I had when the kids were toddlers.

Leave a Reply

