Mediterranean-style Tilapia and Quinoa

There is a long-running debate in my head about the wisdom and responsibilities of eating fish, since it’s both good for me and potentially bad for me and the earth. I haven’t landed on an ideology, so I’m just trying to eat the best fish I can find for a few meals per month. I had a simple and healthy recipe based around Tilapia, found “Tilapia” that Costco claimed to be responsibly acquired, and bought enough for 2 family meals. The first meal I made follows. Tilapia was heartily consumed by the 3 adults at this meal, and generally rejected by the kids, but they had extenuating circumstances (don’t they always?). I really liked the quinoa, but one man at the table had never heard of it and only reluctantly tried a bite (similar to what happens with my kids on a regular basis). I served it with steamed green beans. I’ll make it again.

Tilapia and Quinoa with Feta and Cucumber

Great for: Quick family dinner

Prep: 5 minutes

Quinoa: 20 Minutes

Fish: 8-10 minutes

Serve:  immediately

INGREDIENTS

1C Quinoa

Coarse salt

Ground pepper

1.5t EVOO

1# boneless, skinless tilapia fillets, divided into 8 pieces

¾ t paprika

1C English cucumber (6oz), peeled and diced

1/3 C feta (1.5oz), crumbled

1/3 C roughly chopped, fresh dill (optional, as I don’t like dill)

2t fresh lemon juice

DIRECTIONS

In a small saucepan, bring quinoa, 2C water and 1t salt to a boil over high heat. Reduce to medium simmer and cook until water evaporates, about 15 minutes.

Transfer Quinoa to a medium bowl and let stand 5 minutes

Ina large, non-stick skillet, heat 1.5toil over medium-high. Pat fish dry and season with salt, pepper and paprika.

Cook fillets until opaque throughout, about 4 minutes, flipping halfway through.

Stir cucumber and feta (and dill), 1t oil, and lemon juice into quinoa. Season with salt and pepper.

Serve plated, or family –style (as I did).

What are your favorite fish meals? Have a fish-eating quandary or resolution to share? Let me know in the comments.

One response to this post.

  1. Ah yes, the debate about sustainable fish. By all accounts, Tilapia is one of the most sustainable and responsible fish to consume. This looks delicious – and just the thing for our Friday night guests. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

