The Gift of Food

After the Energizer Bunny was born, I was lucky enough to have wonderful friends, neighbors and fellow AustinMamas bring dinners for our family for 6-8 weeks. I’d learned a few lessons from receiving meals after the birth of the Spitfire, and I had insight into the process after delivering many a meal to a family who had just welcomed a new baby.

The Energizer Bunny will lull you into a dream state with his cuteness, allowing you to momentarily forget that he was up partying all night

For these gifts of food, my rules were thus:

  1. Thou shalt not schedule more than 3 meals per week. People bring over too much food, more often than not, and  we’d need space in our week for leftovers. Plus, sometimes I just want to eat cereal for dinner.
  2. Thou shalt not freeze food from unknown origins. I have a no re-freezing policy. If the meat was thawed and then cooked, the end product will not go back into the freezer no matter how tempting it is to save leftovers for a future date.  Certain members of my family do not have iron stomachs and re-freezing previously frozen meat is just asking for trouble that no new mama needs. And, asking someone if they used frozen meat is, in my opinion, ill-advised. I don’t want to make anyone who brings me food feel awkward about what they have brought, and House says that everybody lies (also: It’s never Lupus). Sometimes people brought store-bought items like rotisserie chicken or Rudy’s BBQ, and those were treated like anything we bought ourselves.
  3. Thou shalt not be picky. I don’t like raw tomato, for example, but I’ll eat a Caprese Salad if someone is nice enough to bring it to me. Because the rest of my life is going to be figuring out what’s for dinner.
  4. Thou shalt not attempt to lose the baby weight until the free meals stop. See above.
  5. Thou shalt ask for the recipe post-haste. Some of my family’s favorite meals came from these gifts, and I enjoy thinking of those days home with a newborn and the person who thoughtfully brought me the meal whenever I look at or cook from those recipes.

One such favorite items was a dessert from a friend whose daughter is a close friend of the Spitfire. She warned me that they were fattening, and I let her know about my 4th rule. These Peanut Butter Bars are AMAZING. Bring them to a friend sometime! I’m posting the recipe the exact way she emailed it to me, below. And, now that I’m re-reading the recipe, I plan to make them again this weekend!

Margaret’s Peanut Butter Bars

Blend to creamy- 1 C Brown sugar, 4 eggs, 1C peanut butter 1/2 stick butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla.  Add 1 1/2 C flour, 2 C oats 1 teaspoon baking soda- Grease square baking pan- bake 25-40- mins at 350. Not a low fat food item.

Leave a Reply

