Panko-crusted Thai Chicken

Very often, I’ll eat a sample at the grocery store. Very rarely, I will buy the product and cook it up as directed. Last week was the exception. The cooking section at the grocery store was making and sampling chicken made from a jar of Thai Panang Curry, panko bread crumbs and a pork rub. When I tried it, it was the curry flavor I wanted, so I bought the jar, intending to cook it without the breading. When I go home, I discovered seasoned panko breadcrumbs I had previously forgotten about and since they were seasoned, I figured that was enough and I could scrub adding a rub.

This is not the most low-fat recipe, for sure, but the ingredients themselves and prep work are so simple, I can make it after work in 20 minutes.

Panang Chicken with Peas

Great for: quick family dinner

Prep: 5 minutes

Cook: 15-20 minutes

INGREDIENTS

1 Jar Thai Panang Curry(Global Palate or similar)

2-3# Boneless, skinless breasts, split and trimmed (optional: flattened)

1 pack frozen peas (petite preferred, but your choice)

1C Panko bread crumbs (seasoned, or plain. If plain, consider using an Thai rub on the chicken)

1/2C olive oil

DIRECTIONS

  1.  Rub chicken with some of the olive oil and a coat in bread crumbs—I use a pie plate for the bed of crumbs.
  2. Add about 1/4 C oil to fry pan and heat until hot, on medium high.
  3. Add each chicken breast as you go and add remaining oil when all breasts are coated.
  4. Brown chick on on both sides until done (about 5 minutes each side).
  5. Add Panang Curry and peas.
  6. Simmer until heated through.

 

Serve with brown rice.

Leave a Reply

