Cook a Little, Talk a Little

Welcome to the CALTAL blog. I’m Julie: foodie, book nerd and working mother of 2. I’m hoping this blog can serve a few purposes: provide examples of recipes which do (and sometimes do not) work well for busy families; point to online discussions and articles about healthy and thoughtful family eating; guide interested readers to small ways they can play a role to influence healthy eating attitudes, offerings or prospects in their own community.

I’m not planning to play all three cards in every post. Most often there will be posts about recipes I tried out, and more occasionally discussions of articles or ideas about food activism. Today, for our first post, I’d like to tell you about a family tradition that won’t seem very healthy.

Growing up, every one in our family woke up on their birthday to singing and lit candles on a Baskin-Robbins ice cream pie. We each had out favorite flavors: Mom chose butter pecan, Dad and Brother wanted Jamoca Almond Fudge and Sister and I always picked Mint Chocolate Chip. We three kids have continued the tradition in our own families.

Sadly, here in Austin, Texas the nearest BR is still not that close, Ben and Jerry’s has closed and our Amy’s Ice Cream cakes are way too big for a small family breakfast. Further complicating matters, my Spitfire, who just turned 8, had requested Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food for her pie. How am I to say no? I did a quick search for ice cream pies and found a simple recipe.  I made it in about 5 minutes, and it tasted terrific. It was also probably 1/3 the cost of a store-bought ice cream cake.  We all had a slice, including my visiting parents. And then? I threw it away. Ice cream pie is delicious, but if we keep it in the house I will eat it every day until its gone and gain about 3 pounds in one week. Add in the fact that we have all 4 birthdays in the last third of the year, and you can see why I tend to put on, as one friend bluntly put it, my “winter coat.”

So, this winter I am focusing on keeping that coat in the closet. According to my doctor, as women enter their 40s they put on 2-3 pounds a year. Those pounds add up to risk factors for breast cancer, diabetes, and other diseases. But I’m not going to stop eating ice cream pies, I’m just not going to eat one every day.

Do you have family food traditions you enjoy, but have to moderate for your health? Let me know in the comments. Include a recipe if you can!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzanne on October 18, 2011 at 3:54 PM

    Hey, cool! I’ve lost 15lbs since I began my 40s 🙂 Bucking the trend! …so far….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

